Say Cheese

I’m a bit of a mouse.  When I was a child, one of my favorite snacks was American cheese slices, which as a grew older matured to heavy hitters like gorgonzola, taleggio, and cashel.  There’s something magical about the taste and the way cheese can coat your mouth like velvet.  Now as an adult constantly trying to shed the extra five to ten pounds, I eat cheese in moderation, which makes cheese all the more appealing.

I considered myself fairly knowledgeable in the cheese department, so I was somewhat ashamed that it took me 25 years to place a creamy, dreamy piece of burrata (“buttered” in Italian) in my mouth.  Years ago, growing up on Lidia Bastianich’s Lidia’s Italy I spied this little treat.  She was in the Puglia region of Italy, cutting into a piece of solid mozzarella with overflowing ribbons of fresh curd and cream.  Cue your salivary glands.

A few weeks ago, the boy (aka Mr. Mouse) made his version of the first burrata caprese salad I’d tried at Alma Nove.  Something about making this treat at home made it taste better than any fancy restaurant’s version.  His version also tasted way better than the version I made a few nights ago.  Then again, when doesn’t food taste better when someone else makes it for you?

Tomato, Burrata Cheese, and Pistachio Salad

2 large plum tomatoes
fleur de sel
freshly ground black pepper
handful of torn fresh basil leaves for garnish
unsalted shelled pistachios, chopped
2 Tbsp of balsamic glaze
1 large round of burrata cheese

Cut tomatoes into slices and place on a large platter. Add the torn basil leaves and pistachios. Take the large burrata cheese round and cut into quarters. Place cheese in the center of the plate. Sprinkle with fleur de sel and pepper. Drizzle balsamic glaze over the salad. Garnish with additional basil leaves and serve.

Stuff your face and savor each and every calorie.  And remember kids, you’re doing it in the name of calcium!

One response to “Say Cheese

  1. Stephy July 10, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    This looks amazing… I cannot wait to try it… *drool*

Leave a Reply

