happy birthday to me[nton]

25 is a big year, right?  You’re at the midway point of your twenties when society suddenly views you as a grown up and as a reward, you no longer have to pay some exorbitant fee to drive a rental car.  What better way to start such a year than to attend an exceptional chef’s tasting menu by the lovely, never disappointing Barbara Lynch (love to love you, baby).

Why yes we will.

Late Monday night, my twin sister and I headed to Menton, the newest restaurant securing Barbara’s trilogy of Seaport/Southie magic (i.e. the greatest freaking block on Congress Street with Sportello, Drink, and Menton).  Menton is French and Italian cuisine and is very aptly named for a district in France nestled on Italy’s border.

This place, this meal… it was no joke.  We literally came,  ate, and conquered.


September 19th Menu

Happy Birthday girls!

Heirloom Tomato “Jello” with Dehydrated Tomato Crisp

Fluke Crudo with Black Sesame, Pickled Leek, and White Sturgeon Caviar (favorite dish of the night)

Veta La Palma Camarones – White Tiger Shrimp, Espelette, Dried Fruit Vinaigrette

Wild Bluefin Tuna, Maine Sea Urchin, Apple Gelee, Black Olive
Ravioli and Lobster Mushrooms

Terrine of Foie Gras, Ris de Veau, and Rabbit

Seared Foie Gras de Canard, Ginger, Rhubarb, Tellicherry Pepper (divine)

Assiette of Rabbit, Sunflower Seed, Winter Squash, Parsnip

Suckling Pig, Black-Eyed Peas, Tomato Jam, and Purslane

Palate Cleanser — Mango Sorbet with Tapioca

Warm Apple Cider Donut, Tonka Bean, Earl Grey, Cinnamon, Cheese Crisp

Happy Birthday mini macarons (basil, rose, and vanilla)

The pictures say it all. Everything looked and tasted delicious. My favorite was by far the crudo. Crudo is always so light, complex, and makes you feel good eating it. The seared foie gras was also an obvious favorite. I typically hate ginger, but it really brightened the dish.

Another fun highlight that was devoured before the camera could come out was a simple croissant. Holy moly. I would marry whoever made those croissants just so I could eat one every morning for the rest of my life. Please find me and give me a call.

If this dinner was any indication of how my 25th year will be, I have a feeling this may be one of my best years yet. I vow to surround myself with people I love and who love me, good food, great coffee, music and dancing. Let’s do this.

3 responses to “happy birthday to me[nton]

  1. Aly September 24, 2011 at 12:17 am

    YUM! Happy Birthday! 😀

  2. Musings by Di September 26, 2011 at 2:07 am

    yummmm all of that looks absolutely delicious!! happy belated birthday ladies!!!

  3. Pingback: Gaslight Brasserie | Katie Eats Boston

Leave a Reply

