MDW!!!

I’ve self-diagnosed a case of laziness.  For that, I apologize.  It’s been hot and as much as I want to eat salad, sometimes a bowl of corn flakes, strawberries, and ice cold milk gets the job done.  And though I”m sure you’re all dying to see how to assemble the perfect bowl of cereal, I’ll spare you that bore of a post.

With the three day weekend for Memorial Day, I headed home to Long Island with the twinnie with one goal in mind — grill.  Oh baby, did I grill.  I also had another nagging voice in my head that kept saying, “EAT EVERY HOT DOG IN SIGHT THIS WEEKEND!”  Fortunately or unfortunately (however you’d like to see it), I only ate one hot dog.  On one hand, BOOOO, who only eats one hot dog?  Hot dogs are in the same category as pistachios for me — one is just never enough.  On the other hand, I also went to the beach this weekend and thanked the skinny gods that I didn’t look like encased meat on the beach.

In any case, I did most of my shopping on Saturday and for the first time, I came out of my hometown pizzaria without a regular slice and a garlic knot.  Instead, I emerged with uncooked pizza dough for my grilled pizza.  Totally inspired by a great dinner date!  My family has a pretty bad ass recipe for pizza dough, but this weekend I took the approach that I wasn’t spending every waking moment in the kitchen for prep time.  I wanted easy recipes that I could literally throw together in minutes the day of.  Time is money and holiday weekends mean surrounding yourself with family and friends.

After some short term brainstorming, I came up with three things:

Grilled Pizza with goat cheese, prosciutto, caramelized onions, baby arugula, drizzled with EVOO and cracked black pepper




This has literally got to be the easiest thing to do on a grill.  You’ll need either your own homemade pizza dough if you’re feeling especially ambitious.  Otherwise, you can do what I did and run to your local pizza joint and buy dough.  It’s pretty inexpensive and just think of the time you’ll save!  Imagining how much proofing you’ll have to do and the sometimes heartbreaking yeast battles you’ll have to endure.  No thank you.

Get your grill to a medium-high heat.  I used a gas grill because that’s what my grandma has at her house, but I imagine a charcoal grill would have been nice.  I’m a fan of charcoal grills because of the flavor they give off.  Nothing beats that’s borderline ashy flavor (not even kidding).  Prior to grilling, roll out your dough and brush with olive oil.  Throw your rounds on the grill and flip once golden brown, approximately 5-7 minutes grilled covered depending on your grill temperature.

Once the dough is off the grill, spread a heavy handed amount of goat cheese on the dough.  Top with baby arugula, prosciutto di parma, caramelized onions, and a few more dollops of goat cheese if you’re feeling particularly cheesy.  Serve warm.

Honey Glazed Wings marinated in hoisin, soy, rice wine vinegar and grated ginger and garlic



I bought two pounds of wings.  These wings looked like they came from a pterodactyl.  They were monster wings and they kind of scared me.

I reached out to my friend Adri, who always has the best grilled wing recipes.  She told me she uses a mix of hoisin, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce and ginger.  I added a clove of grated garlic to the mix to give it an extra kick and marinated the chicken for 6 hours.

Grill the wings on medium-high heat and have handy some honey diluted with water.  Continuously brush on the honey glaze as you flip your wings.  Cook until crispy and golden brown.

Shrimp Skewers with pineapple and a teriyaki glaze


First thing’s first, grab adorable sous chefs to help you skewer your shrimp and pineapples.


Once your shrimp and pineapple are on skewers, drizzle with olive oil and salt and pepper.  Use store bought teriyaki sauce and brush lightly on both sides.  Grill until the shrimp is pink.

Easy right?

Then all you have to do is set your table, call your company do eat, and stuff your face!  Hope you all had as wonderful a Memorial Day Weekend as I did!

One response to “MDW!!!

  1. Beth July 13, 2011 at 4:33 am

    My mouth is watering…

Leave a Reply

