sticky sticky buns

I’m not going to take credit where credit is not due. I had no idea what Flour Bakery was until I’d seen it on Throwdown with Bobby Flay.  It’s embarrassing for me to admit that I watch Bobby Flay’s shows because the man has bean sack breasts, but I’ll save that for another post.  Moral is I have a love/hate relationship with Bobby, but this time he got it so right.

Almost a year ago, I worked on a client down in Seaport.  My manager suggested we go to her favorite lunch spot, which just so happened to be Flour!  I was psyched, but every time I went, I somehow never managed to get one of their famous sticky sticky buns.  FYI, they have wonderful soups and their lamb sandwich is heaven between two slices of bread.

When Ray visited this past fall, we went to Flour in Central Square and our sticky sticky bun destinies were fulfilled!


Joanne Chang’s buttery ooey gooey sticky buns

This was a mouthful. The brioche is already ridiculously rich. It is dense, cakey, and extremely buttery. Then, they pour on the glorious goo!! Cue Hallelujah Chorus. It is a delicious honey flavored caramel with crunch pecans. The stickiness of the goo, the crunch of the nuts, and the soft brioche married together so so well. It’s no surprise that these buns went on my list of things to bake. This past weekend, I made Joanne’s sticky buns.



Unfortunately, I grabbed one of the flatter buns. I didn’t do a great job portioning with my knife. Oops! The taste was spot on, but after knowing how much butter actually went into the 8 buns (yes, the recipe only yielded 8 buns), the experience just wasn’t the same. I think I’ll leave the measurements to the experts and turn a blind eye, enjoying my buns in ignorant bliss.

3 responses to “sticky sticky buns

  1. Aly April 12, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    ooooh! i was looking at their cookbook specifically for the sticky buns recipe! now i’ll definitely have to try it! YUM! STICKY BUNS! YUM!

  2. Pingback: short and stout « read . cook . digest

  3. Pingback: Myers + Chang | Katie Eats Boston

Leave a Reply

