Thomas Keller’s Roast Chicken

My sister came over for dinner on Sunday, and I was going to make Thomas Keller’s Roast Chicken, but since it was only the two of us, I butchered a whole chicken into 4 cuts (2 white meat and 2 dark meat cuts). Since my sister prefers white meat, I managed to remove the breast bone and roasted it with salt and pepper. The simplicity of roast chicken is mind boggling, and over the years I think I’ve gotten better and better. The two tweaks include being more liberal with the kosher salt and tempering the chicken. Letting the chicken air dry lets the skin dry out a bit, which makes for crispier skin and speeds the cooking process. The middle of the meat is also likely to cook all the way through. Enjoy an easy lesson and go make a chicken like the best chef in America!

One response to “Thomas Keller’s Roast Chicken

  1. rdk2 April 6, 2011 at 10:43 am

    This video was a great idea. I have roasted chickens (hundreds of chickens) but didn’t know about removing the wishbone, or why truss the chicken. I like 45 minutes at 425 instead of the traditional hour or more at 350. My special touch is to put lemons and/or oranges in the cavity. It adds a fresh flavor to the bird. Everybody loves it. keep on cooking!

Leave a Reply

