stack ’em high

I’ve decided to come out of my hell hole to give Ray a break.  Ray, you can thank me later by posting a video.  If you don’t, you will be sorry.  Please refer to crazy statue monkey below.


I have his number… don’t make me call him

Haha, I am too much sometimes.  On this past Friday, I cooked dinner for my extended family and built the menu around my grandma’s favorite foods, cauliflower and salmon.  Though the result was out of this world fantastic, I neglected to bring my Nikon with me for the trip home since I told myself I would focus.  Damn it for being responsible and studious!!!!!  However, I loved the salmon en papillote and roasted cauliflower puree so much, I’ll probably do it again when I go back to Boston.  I vow to be a cooking/photographing/blogging monster.  Pinky swear!

In the meantime, I will post about a guilty pleasure of mine… pancakes!  I have a thing about ordering pancakes when I go out for breakfast.  And by a thing, I mean I don’t.  When I visited Ray, I ordered over easy eggs at the Original Pancake House. Really? you’re thinking.  Yes, really.


NO PANCAKES, NO!

I am by no means a snob because Lord knows I make terrible pancakes from scratch.  I also loudly and proudly support the use of Bisquick.  Yes, I said Bisquick.  Deal with it.  When I make my “lazy man’s” pancakes, I’ll jazz them up with cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla extract and some combination of mushed up bananas, blueberries, and/or chocolate chips.  The result?  Always a perfectly fluffy and satisfying stack of pancakes.  Do I doubt the pros can do this better than I can?  Maybe.  Perhaps I’m just not willing to let them win.



the pour

Fortunately, I “the lazy man” have not resorted to the shake and pour Bisquick.  I would not allow myself to fall plummet from grace like that.  And so the mystery continues as I will never concede defeat to restaurant/diner pancakes.

Good to be back for 15 minutes.  Until the 28th guys!

3 responses to “stack ’em high

  1. Aly February 16, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    yum! pancakes!

    and the dinner was delicious! james took a photo on his cell that i will send you even though it will be cell phone camera quality.

    i’ve loved having you in ny these past few weeks (even if you were in lockdown)! miss you when you go back! can’t wait for visits! love you! 🙂

  2. Krissie February 17, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    YES! Come make it in boston…it sounds delicious! =) Can’t wait to see you tomorrowww!!!!

  3. Beth March 8, 2011 at 4:48 am

    I’ve converted some Brits to the American-style pancakes. Can’t beat something that’s so fluffy!

    Oh, and your photograph “the pour” is making my mouth water. No proper maple syrup here, so golden syrup will have to do. Boo.

Leave a Reply

