Shameful Acceptance: KFC

I like Kentucky Fried Chicken. There, I said it. Of all the fast food chains I’ve eaten at growing up, KFC was the most welcomed by my parents because of the non sandwich/burger centric menu items. It was a nice break from my dad’s cooking and having actual American food. No over salted fried rice or spinach here, just oil and grease, thank you very much. Come to think of it, I can’t recall a single menu item that I truly hated. Fried chicken, good. Crispy strips, good. Mashed potatoes with gravy, good. Biscuits, good. Honey BBQ Wings, super duper good. The cole slaw is still the standard for all cole slaw in my book. The weaker items included corn on the cob that was watery and over cooked and the roasted chicken that was discontinued. See what happens when you don’t fry something, KFC?

Serious Eats recently had a fast food wing taste test in which KFC’s wings won 2 out of the 5 categories. Popeyes won one as well for their sauce-less wings. Last week while I was at home, I sneaked in a few wings for lunch and they still taste as good as I remembered. Sadly and luckily, I don’t really have access to KFC’s in either Boston or DC for liking KFC is my foodie sin that I will have to shamefully accept.


Honey BBQ Wings from Serious Eats’ Fast Food Wings Taste Test

3 responses to “Shameful Acceptance: KFC

  1. Ivy February 9, 2011 at 12:40 am

    Mmm KFC is definitely greasy deliciousness! If you are ever in Asia, go to KFC for crispy yummy chicken!!

  2. Beth March 8, 2011 at 4:53 am

    However, don’t go to KFC in England! Marketing must have decided southern fried cooking in all its glory would be lost on the Brits, and here, the biscuits, corn-on-the-cob, and other delicious sides have been replaced with standard french fries. I was horribly disappointed and unable to drag myself back since.

    • sykickray March 9, 2011 at 7:17 pm

      Hah, I guess maybe you should try visiting a KFC in Asia. American fast food restaurants seemed like they were upscale over there. I’m not sure how something like mac n cheese or mashed potatoes would translate though since they underutilize butter!

Leave a Reply

