Groupon, Livingsocial Addictions & a DC Restaurant List!

Well, my time is really winding down quickly in Washington DC. In addition to finding housing in Boston, finding a replacement in DC for my apartment, and getting rid of furniture, I am trying to use my remaining Groupons, LivingSocial Deals, etc. Today I’ve managed to use 2 and sell 2. Let’s take a look at the damage.

Yama’s Mediterranean Grill Used- Lunch with Co-workers
Wing Hub Used- Beer, wings, chicken tenders, and fries
Kushi Sold to Co-worker
Kushi Sold to Co-worker
Kinkead’s– Well known DC establishment by brothers who also have a restaurant in Boston called Sibling Rivalry that I look forward to trying
The General Store– Odd hole in the wall restaurant by well known local chef that was featured on Diners, Dive Ins, and Dives. Southern food with a twist.
Morrison Clarke– Hotel restaurant, which I wouldn’t have bought except it was on sale during the height of my addiction
Comet Ping Pong– Pizza joint featured on Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives. Restaurant is also decked out in ping pong tables due to the owners love of the game.
Sticky Rice– Funky sushi and Japanese influenced dishes. Would make a purist cry. better known for atmosphere than food. I liked it enough the first time.
Meskerem– Ethiopian cuisine. I just promised myself I would try Ethiopian cuisine before I left DC. I hope they represent.
Zentan– Susar Lee’s restaurant at the Donovan Hotel.
Charlie Palmer Steak– Capital Hill staple filled with lobbyists and government officials.

A lot of eating in just a little over a week left. I’m sad I didn’t get to return to Kushi, which made a real splash when it showed up on the dining scene. It made the new 2011 list of top 100 restaurants in Washington DC. These dining deal sites have really burned a hole in my wallet the last year, but I’ve deeply enjoyed being encouraged to try new restaurants and also getting a larger sampling of the menu. I will look forward to some of the new places I can try in Boston now that I’m not a broke college student.

As for the list of restaurants I regret not being able to try in the DC area:
Komi
Citronelle
CityZen
Bourbon Steak
Blue Duck Tavern
The Source
Rasika
Cafe Atlantico/Oyamel/Zaytinya
Tabard Inn
Ray’s the Steak/Ray’s the Classics
Thai X-ing
Granville Moore’s
Tune Inn Restaurant & Bar
Taqueria Distrito Federal
Pasta Mia
Florida Ave Grill
El Pollo Rico

3 responses to “Groupon, Livingsocial Addictions & a DC Restaurant List!

  1. Ivy January 21, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Bourbon steak?! I love Michael Mina!!

  2. Pingback: The Washington DC Farewell Tour Part 2 « read . cook . digest

Leave a Reply

