waste not, want not

There is something that’s been keeping me up at night.  The culprit?  Fresh herbs.  The thought of herbs slowly dying in my fridge gives me agida.  It’s not so much the dying part, it’s the money part.  I’m not cheap, but I do feel a pang of guilt when I throw full bunches of herbs in the trash, knowing there was so much potential.

Herbs = Endless Flavor Combos

I did some research on how to keep my herbs longer.  My options?

Dry Them
1) Trim the stems
2) Tie the bottoms with twine
3) Hang upside down

Why this probably won’t work? I don’t have twine and I don’t have enough dry, cool storage space to hang these. I could do it from my closet, but smelling like a bouquet garni is not one of my job’s requirements.

Keep Them Moist
1) Wrap unwashed herbs in a moist paper towel
2) Place wrapped herbs in a ziploc
3) Store in the fridge

Winner?

Use Them and Stop Complaining
1) Open your cookbook
2) Sort through your assigned recipes for tarragon, parsley, thyme, and rosemary
3) Make a grocery list
4) Go shopping TODAY.

DING DING DING! The point of this blog is to get cooking, so cooking here I go. Look out for my next cooking post within the next few days.

P.S. Did anyone else watch Top Chef tonight?  I was sweating.  Old, angry Chinese women.  I have the shakes.  Thank God Susur is there.  I love him.

One response to “waste not, want not

  1. Aly January 10, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Shang is at the top of my list for restaurants to try!

Leave a Reply

