let the journey begin as told by Katie

What better way to start 2011 than to embark on an epic culinary journey with one of your best friends?  Ray and I have some pretty lofty dreams and we’ve talked endlessly about our foodie obsessions since our graduation from Boston University’s School of Management in ’08.  After realizing that we’re only getting older, I set the ball in motion.  I picked up a copy of Café Boulud Cookbook at Borders three weeks ago when my boyfriend produced one of those magic holiday coupons.  Thanks Allen!

I read through the book cover to cover three times that following weekend.  That Monday I made the decision that this was what Ray and I needed.  If we were ever going to get some of our dreams off the ground, we would have to take baby steps to get there… like be in the kitchen more often and challenge ourselves.  I immediately ran to Amazon to express ship Ray a copy of the cookbook as a Christmas gift.

Fast forward to today now that we both have our copy in hand.  We’ve decided to split the book by its 4 sections and then by subsections.  For instance, the game plan is to start with La Tradition.  Ray will start at the beginning of Soups, Starters, Small Dishes, Lunches, and Anytime Food and I will start at the end until we cooked through that section.  Then, we will move onto the next La Tradition subsection — Main Courses, until we have finished the entire La Tradition.  Sounds easy, right?

So where do we go from here?  Well, first I think Ray and I need some high def webcams.  That way, we can speak to each other candidly and share some of those conversations with you.  Anyone reading out there will also get to see how ridiculously good looking we are.  Consider yourselves lucky.

We could also use some cast and crew mates e.g. friends who are willing to take notes, pictures, and Flip videos for a potentially delicious payoff.

I could also use some extra money, but I’m afraid that’s coming from just us.

I’m extremely intimidated now that we’ve laid the ground rules.  My first recipe to tackle is Crusty Marrow and Porcini Fricassee.  Holy cow, here we go.

2 responses to “let the journey begin as told by Katie

  1. Krissie December 28, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    extremely excited! this is also me volunteering to be a taste tester guinea pig =)

Leave a Reply

