short and stout

Chocolate Stout Cake from Bon Appetit

2 cups Guinness
2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
4 cups AP flour
4 cups sugar
1 tablespoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons Kosher salt
4 large eggs
1 1/3 cups sour cream

Preheat oven to 350°F. Bring 2 cups of Guinness and 4 sticks of butter to simmer in heavy large saucepan over medium heat. Add cocoa powder and whisk until mixture is smooth. It will smell like heaven, but obviously tastes like crap since there is no sugar in it. I would know since I am a child and cannot possibly pass up licking a chocolatey spoon. Cool slightly and keep the spoon out of your mouth. You will thank me.

Whisk flour, sugar, baking soda, and 1 1/2 teaspoons salt in large bowl to blend. Using a hand mixer or stand mixer, beat eggs and sour cream in another large bowl to blend. Add stout-chocolate mixture to egg mixture and beat just to combine. Add flour mixture and beat briefly on slow speed. Using rubber spatula, fold batter until completely combined. Divide batter equally among prepared pans. Bake cakes until tester inserted into center of cakes comes out clean, about 20 minutes for mini cupcakes (35 minutes if you’re making a full sized cake and somewhere in the middle for the normal sized cupcakes). Let cupcakes cool before frosting.

At this point, you could run to your liquor cabinet and grab that Jameson. All variations of Irish Car Bomb (I know it’s not PC, I apologize) cupcakes have an Irish whiskey ganache. Ganache is a mix of chocolate (my favorite is bittersweet or semisweet), butter, and cream. For this cupcake, you’d want to add enough Jameson to taste. Then scoop out a small portion of the top of your cake and throw in some of your spiked ganache. I didn’t do this step because I hate Jameson.

Now for the frosting! This is my standard cream cheese frosting with a few healthy splashes of Irish cream.  Take two sticks of butter, 8 oz of cream cheese, Bailey’s Irish cream, and powdered sugar. Cream the butter and the cream cheese together with a hand mixer. Add the Irish cream to taste. Begin adding the powdered sugar only a few tablespoons at a time and mix. I’ve noticed doing this makes the frosting much more smooth and less chalky. Keep adding sugar until you’ve reached your desired sweetness.

I’ve been a conventional baker for years now, so it’s really no surprise to me that tasty things are usually not good for you. It takes a lot to phase me in the kitchen, but I was horrified by the amount of butter in these. Staring at the 4 sticks of butter in the stout pool gave me the very same sinking feeling I got after making the Flour sticky buns. Regardless, it didn’t stop me from sneaking one (or two) after lunch. What? They were mini!

5 responses to “short and stout

  1. Mommy July 19, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    They look and sound delicious–save me a couple –what? they are mini :)

  2. Aly July 19, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    I’ve been looking to try out a similar recipe! these look delicious! save me some, too! YUM! :)

  3. goodbyereality411 July 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Those cupcakes look yummy!

  4. Christa Wagner August 29, 2011 at 8:51 am

    These cupcakes were delicious and the frosting with the irish creme was delicious. One thing to note is that this recipe makes a ton of batter. I cut out 1/4 of everything and still made 24 regular sized cupcakes and could have easily made another dozen plus. My only problem was that the cupcakes kind of fell apart and I dont know why. Was it the Guiness? The cake was cooked all the way but kind of stuck to the wrapper on the bottom. Otherwise they were delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

    • ktfrek August 31, 2011 at 12:19 am

      Christa, I totally agree. I got the recipe from a full fledged cake recipe and ended up freezing half the batter for later use. I did not have any fall apart issues, sorry to hear that you did babe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

