No. 9 Park

Finally, FINALLY!!!!!  This past Friday, I made it to No. 9 Park, the first baby of celebrated Boston chef Barbara Lynch.  I’d selected this restaurant as my birthday dinner venue for my 19th birthday, but alas my tardiness in making the dinner reservations prevented me from celebrating my 19th year of existence there.  Since then, my borderline unhealthy obsession with Barbara Lynch began.  I’m not making any excuses.  I basically want to be Barbara Lynch because she is a bad ass.

I should refine my wording above to say I am obsessed with Barbara Lynch and have projected my obsession on one dish in particular… the prune stuffed gnocchi with foie gras, marcona almonds, and a vin santo glaze.  To me, this dish is like a movie that all of your friends have hyped up to epic proportions.  You, the typical procrastinator, wait and wait to see it and when you finally get around to it, the movie is no longer in theaters.  All of your friends continue to throw out one liners from the movie and they all laugh together.  Of course, you’d like to laugh too, but realize that if you do, they’d all think you’re some kind of farce because you haven’t seen the movie.  After what seems like years, the movie is released on dvd and you run to the nearest store to buy a copy.  On the drive back home, you worry that the movie won’t live up to your expectations and are ready to curse your friends until the fat lady sings.  But alas, the movie is actually everything you hoped for and the tears running down your cheeks are tears of joy and laughter, not of disappointment!  SUCCESS!

… and those were the crazy thoughts running through my head as I placed my order.


Finally made it after nearly 5 years of wanting to!

Prune Stuffed Gnocchi // Assiette of Beef

Glace du jour (pecan, honey, and coffee)

The 5 years of waiting were torture, but the gnocchi dish was tremendous.  It was more than I could have ever imagined it to be.  In a word, it was ambrosial.  It was as if I’d never tasted food before, cliche I know.  The gnocchi was soft and the filling was delicate but packed a very flavorful punch.  The foie gras and the foie gras vin santo glaze was rich without being heavy.  The whole dish was so silky smooth with just the right amount of crunch, thanks to the almonds.  As Gael Greene so delicately put it, “Great food is like great sex. The more you have the more you want.”  Girl, you are preaching to the choir.  I now want to book myself to all of Lynch’s restaurants before the year is over.

I am also now taking my obsession to the next level.  Thanks to the Waltham Public Library and Allen’s handy dandy library card, Stir is in my possession.  I’ve committed the recipe to memory and have all the necessary ingredients with the exception of my foie, marcona almonds, and vin santo.  The foie gras from D’ARTAGNAN is scheduled for delivery this Friday and I’m planning on making a visit to Central Bottle to pick up a bottle of vin santo and Whole Foods to grab a bag of almonds.  Saturday will be a day of many firsts including fresh pasta, cooking with prunes and vin santo, and deveining foie gras lobes.  I’ve never been happier.

5 responses to “No. 9 Park

  1. Aly January 12, 2011 at 12:32 am

    very intriguing!

  2. Lynn S January 12, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Yum! This sounds like such a cool combination. I’m enjoying the blog and that you guys are posting frequently! Restaurant reviews are fun too. Keep up the good work!

  3. Pingback: News Flash: Cooking Agent Relocating! « read . cook . digest

  4. Pingback: Sportello | Katie Eats Boston

  5. Pingback: Stir: Quick & Impromptu Suppers | Katie Eats Boston

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

